Probably Stupid Newbie Torrent Question

bennyb98

Ok, so i'm a newbie here, first post, so I have been downloading some torrents from here and I noticed I have a bad ratio (not really sure what that is) it seems to be because i'm not uploading much so my question is how do I let get my machine to upload? I am using uTorrent 1.7.7 and just downloaded it and didn't change any settings so not really sure why its not uploading anything.

Sorry if this is one of those obvious questions just didn't want to be downloading a bunch of stuff and then not upload anything.
thanks

I'm not a torrent expert by any means, but I don't think that you can control how much you are uploading. The fact that you have your torrent still on your uTorrent screen thing lets other people download stuff, which I think means you're also sort of uploading it? I'm really fuzzy on the terminology, but I'm pretty sure you're doing a good thing!  ;)

With torrents, it's sometimes tough to determine if you are "uploading" correctly.  It could be that there is a problem, it could be that nobody needs or wants what you are uploading.  You should get some sort of error message maybe if you are not configured correctly, but maybe not.

If you upload even a little bit, then you are probably configured correctly.

The good news, is your ratio means nothing here.  While it's nice if you can seed, it's not a requirement and you won't be penalized for having a low sharing ratio.

It may just be that nobody else is downloading.
If you are seeding, someone else needs to be downloading the file from you. The downloads from you (as a seeder) go direct to the person downloading, not to a central hub, if you follow.
I have quite a few with a share ratio of nothing because nobody wants them at the moment and others with a ratio of 6 or so.