Total Newbie...

I\'m totally new to torrents and basically have NO IDEA what it is. I\'m assuming it\'s sort of like a peer to peer file sharing, but what are \"seeds\" and \"leechers\" and how on earth does it all work?

I was able to download some files, so I know HOW to do it I think, but I don\'t know WHAT I\'m doing.

Can anyone help with the jargon? I certainly don\'t want to be leeching (sounds bad). Is seeding a good thing?

Hello,

Leeching = someone downloading the file
Seeders = the person, or people that have already downloading the file, and are now sharing it, or uploading it.

The more seeders, the faster the download will be for new downloaders.

First off, if you don\'t already have a bit torrent client, you need to get one. I personally recommend utorrent from utorrent.com

The small files you download from this site, then open up in utorrent, and utorrent will download the real file from all the seeders.

Can anyone answer this ? Relatively new user and I\'ve checked for an answer around some of the various help topics and cant seem to narrow down an answer. I\'m downloading the 2.3gb wdw today torrent and I notice the download speed keeps ranging from around 13 to 35 and estimated finish time is 1 day and xxx hours. I realize a file that big is going to take some time, but 1 day + ?? Am I perhaps doing something wrong or IS that normal ? Thanks for any input in advance.

Foolish Mortal said:
Can anyone answer this ? Relatively new user and I\'ve checked for an answer around some of the various help topics and cant seem to narrow down an answer. I\'m downloading the 2.3gb wdw today torrent and I notice the download speed keeps ranging from around 13 to 35 and estimated finish time is 1 day and xxx hours. I realize a file that big is going to take some time, but 1 day + ?? Am I perhaps doing something wrong or IS that normal ? Thanks for any input in advance.

are you using a wireless router?